Local 290 History

About Us
The Transport Workers Union Local 290 was organized in November 1972.  Local 290 represents first level managers at Septa. The membership includes Surface Transportation Managers, High Speed Transportation Managers, Station Managers, District Dispatchers, Control Center Dispatchers, Maintenance Managers, Para-Transit Dispatchers, Revenue Attendants, Instructors and an assortment of Office personnel.  Local 290 is an industrial union dedicated to the promise that an organization built on trust and equality for all workers cannot be denied. Our motto is “We make the SYSTEM WORK.”

TWU Local 290 is affiliated with the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO).

Our founding Officers:
John J. Showers, Louis Griffith, Stephen Connahey, Austin Roberts, Fred Hough, Robert Rhoades

Memorandum of Understanding between TWU Local 290 and SEPTA

(Standing left to right – Mike Liberi, SEPTA Chief Officer, Transportation; Joe Brennan, SEPTA Chief Officer, Maintenance Operations; Chad Cuneo, SEPTA Director, Labor Relations; Sue Sanderson, SEPTA Labor Relations Manager; George Booker, Recording Secretary, TWU Local 290 – seated left to right – Craig Holmes, President, TWU Local 290; Melody Allen, Vice President, TWU Local 290)

On December 18, 2019 an updated Memorandum of Understanding between TWU Local 290 and SEPTA was agreed to and signed.  The Memorandum of Understanding is mainly comprised of SEPTA policy, but we were able to negotiate picking rights for bus maintenance managers.

Local 290 is always fighting for its members.  The new MOU is being printed and will be sent out to our members.